All change…

April 3, 2009

I’m moving!

After nearly thirty years of being a blow-in Dub, I’m becoming a blow-in culchie instead.

I’ve always wanted to design and build an eco-friendly house, I’ve long wanted to be involved in community horticulture and outreach, I love the idea of a community where skill swapping is a realistic possibility—and much, much more.

So where can I do all this?

Cloughjordan Eco Village, a new project in North Tipperary which is quite simply FAB.


It’s on a beautiful site to start with

I’ve been thinking about it for a while since a friend and client told me about it, and yesterday I put the first deposit on a site. Yes, really!

The next step is to get the house in Dublin up for sale (yes I know, but the estate agent was optimistic, and it is a great house) and start organising it all.

I’m so excited!

More info on the project, and the hows and whys of it all, coming soon – and for better or worse I’ll be writing here about the trials and tribulations of getting it up and running. Woohoo!

So watch this space. :)



10 Responses to “All change…”

  1. Wooo Hooo!

    Eco House Party!!

    May it bring you much luck.
    I’m so happy for you!


  2. This is an amazing adventure, something I would like to do as well. I can’t wait to hear more as you go on with it.

  3. debbiemet Says:

    Definitely an eco party in due course! (Knit your own beer?) Thanks for the comments, guys – you two here and others on twitter. Didn’t think the techy heads would be so interested! You’ll all be bored by the end… :)

  4. Eolaí Says:

    Excellent! This is both exciting and encouraging. Looking forward to following your adventure and wishing you the best with it.

  5. debbiemet Says:

    Thanks Eolai. I’m looking forward to it all too. :)

  6. Congratulations Debbie! Delighted for you, and will read excitedly about the progress here on the blog!

  7. debbiemet Says:

    Thanks Ciara! I can see I’m going to have to hold true to my word!

  8. Grannymar Says:

    I am jealous!

    Seriously Debbie, I am delighted for you and will avidly follow your progress.

  9. debbiemet Says:

    Thank Grannymar. I will really appreciate everyone’s support on this new and exciting journey. :)

  10. marie tomlan Says:

    Hey Debbie,
    What an exciting project and adventure! Congratulations!I look forward to see your work there!Take care, marie

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

