All change…

April 3, 2009

I’m moving!

After nearly thirty years of being a blow-in Dub, I’m becoming a blow-in culchie instead.

I’ve always wanted to design and build an eco-friendly house, I’ve long wanted to be involved in community horticulture and outreach, I love the idea of a community where skill swapping is a realistic possibility—and much, much more.

So where can I do all this?

Cloughjordan Eco Village, a new project in North Tipperary which is quite simply FAB.

dsc_6791

It’s on a beautiful site to start with

I’ve been thinking about it for a while since a friend and client told me about it, and yesterday I put the first deposit on a site. Yes, really!

The next step is to get the house in Dublin up for sale (yes I know, but the estate agent was optimistic, and it is a great house) and start organising it all.

I’m so excited!

More info on the project, and the hows and whys of it all, coming soon – and for better or worse I’ll be writing here about the trials and tribulations of getting it up and running. Woohoo!

So watch this space. :)

~~~~~~~~~~

commentorangemedish

10 Responses to “All change…”


  1. Wooo Hooo!

    Eco House Party!!

    May it bring you much luck.
    I’m so happy for you!

    Elf


  2. This is an amazing adventure, something I would like to do as well. I can’t wait to hear more as you go on with it.

  3. debbiemet Says:

    Definitely an eco party in due course! (Knit your own beer?) Thanks for the comments, guys – you two here and others on twitter. Didn’t think the techy heads would be so interested! You’ll all be bored by the end… :)

  4. Eolaí Says:

    Excellent! This is both exciting and encouraging. Looking forward to following your adventure and wishing you the best with it.

  5. debbiemet Says:

    Thanks Eolai. I’m looking forward to it all too. :)


  6. Congratulations Debbie! Delighted for you, and will read excitedly about the progress here on the blog!

  7. debbiemet Says:

    Thanks Ciara! I can see I’m going to have to hold true to my word!

  8. Grannymar Says:

    I am jealous!

    Seriously Debbie, I am delighted for you and will avidly follow your progress.

  9. debbiemet Says:

    Thank Grannymar. I will really appreciate everyone’s support on this new and exciting journey. :)

  10. marie tomlan Says:

    Hey Debbie,
    What an exciting project and adventure! Congratulations!I look forward to see your work there!Take care, marie


Leave a comment