First steps

April 22, 2009

Well, I’ve been and gorn and done it. Handed over a this-is-definitely-it handful of filthy lucre (as opposed to the I’m-definitely-interested-but-could-still-change-my-mind, much smaller, handful of the stuff),  signed on the dotted line and agreed all the agreements. So: I am now officially a member of Sustainable Projects Ireland Ltd, and will definitely be building my very own eco-house. Woohoo!

dsc_7042 Pretty village green

dsc_7049

Main street

I had another look at my site – beside a stream, plenty of space for a west/south facing facade and garden, and not cheek-by-jowl with my neighbours. Pretty perfect. It’s hard to imagine it from pictures or a map, but it really is beautiful and it feels like a good site.  Already I’m getting ideas about what to plant, never mind what to build!

dsc_7095

My plot – on far side of stream (currently a ditch)

dsc_67171

View of the whole site as you enter from the main street
My plot is at the squished, red ‘X’, left of centre

In celebration I went off to one of the many nearby towns (there’s a lot of exploring to do of the surrounding area), Nenagh, and bagged myself a really top lunch in Country Choice.  Very good indeed, if somewhat over-the-odds, price-wise. And very excellent coffee, which bodes well.

Of course all this will take time. Storage has been rented, boxes bought, and so we’re currently clutter-clearing (ugh!) and touching up the house ready to put it on the market, hopefully next week.  In the meantime I’ll be meeting the other members of the project and deciding how to contribute my obligatory 100 hours per annum, and generally getting involved. And once I’ve picked an architect we can start designing the house which is the really exciting bit.

I’m steadfastly ignoring the doomsayers (and the part of me that says “What! Are you absolutely mad, woman?!”) and being resolutely optimistic, assuming that yes, the house will sell. It will of course take longer than it would have a year ago, and will undoubtedly fetch a good bit less, but life goes on and I just have to assume that that’s true for other people too. What’s life for, if not for taking chances, after all. But yes, fingers are very much crossed. : )

commentorangemedish

Photos by Simon

10 Responses to “First steps”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Well done!

    Now if that church is C of I, then go and say hello to http://paddyanglican.blogspot.com/ and tell him I sent you.

  2. debbiemet Says:

    Thanks Grannymar, and well spotted! I’m not a churchy person but I would go if I were there. When I do meet him (as I surely will) I will tell him. :)

  3. Evert Bopp Says:

    Cool, you can come and attend the soon to be started Nenagh Open Coffee Club then!

  4. vanjohn Says:

    good luck with your new venture, I’m thinking of going there myelf.What are you going to work at, how are you going to travel, by car?

  5. vanjohn Says:

    do they frown on car users?

  6. Redbookish Says:

    RIP. You will be much missed.

  7. Savannahlady Says:

    So sorry you didn’t get to build your dream house and live here Greenjewel – it looks beautiful.

    You will be so much missed by everyone who knew you both personally and in the cyber communities of which you were so fond.

    Savvie

  8. Annette Says:

    Oh Debbie love, I’ve been following your ‘big adventure’ with such excitement (and a teeny bit of envy); it breaks my heart that you will never be able to complete it now.

    I shall always remember your enthusiasm for life though, and try to grasp a little of that myself, in memory of you.

    Goodnight, my friend Greenjewel.


  9. hey- i came across your site and enjoyed your words… come on over and follow me too!

  10. cheyenne Says:

    came acroos your site and enjoyed your pics and words! come follow me too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

